Welcome, I’m so glad you decided to stop by.  I’d offer you some hot tea or coco, and some fresh bread with homemade strawberry jam but I don’t have the technological know-how to do that (when someone figures out how to do this, will you please let me know?). So, for now, I’ll hope that you’re relaxing in a comfy seat, enjoying a delicious beverage and I’ll work on creating a space for conversation, encouragement and pondering together.

My name is Jen and I live in Northern WI with my 2 dogs. I work as a mental health therapist with special training in Art Therapy and Christian Counseling. I love to travel and make art and unique gifts for others. I love the 4 seasons and all the beauty God has put on this earth. I never have enough time with my friends and family or for all the projects I want to do. I have doubts and struggles and want to find the solid truth to stand on.

I never intended to be a “career woman” and over the last several years there has been a growing discontent within me… I’ve often joked that “Work gets in the way of all the things I want to do,” but it’s not so funny anymore. I long for more…more freedom…more significance…more beauty… more truth…

I long for freedom to give flight to my dreams and develop the yearnings in my soul. Freedom to travel 5 hours to help my brother and his family move at the drop of a hat, to drive half-way across the country and visit an elderly friend losing her sight, to work on the family film editing project, to plug away at all those “DIY” home improvements, to keep reading that book that’s causing my mind to spin and talk about it with someone.

Yes, I do some of these things in tiny doses, but I’m so drained from work that most days it’s all I can do to get the dogs out for a walk and be half-way civil to my friend who just called and is hurting. That is not the way I want to live, nor do I think that’s what God meant when He said that He came so that we would have “abundant life.” I know I’m not alone in this struggle.

Along with more freedom, I want more significance and I don’t mean accolades—I want my life to count for something. I’ve often pondered what the meaning of life is, but there’s something shifting in my thinking as I approach 40 with no children to leave a legacy to. I watch my siblings and friends pouring into their kids and see significance in their daily lives…the way they show love, teach forgiveness and perseverance, and how they share in their children’s wonder and pain etc—it matter’s beyond today.

I am so, so blessed to have grown up as I did, where I did, with the family I did, but there’s a unique grief I carry in never being able to pass that legacy on. Not unique, as in, I’m the only one carrying it, but unique, as in, hard to explain… However, I’m pretty sure there are others out there carrying similar burdens. I want to find a way for the life I live now, as I am, with the cards I hold, to matter for eternity.

For the last 4 years I have been in a relationship that has challenged me on several fronts, the biggest being my faith. Do I believe in God? Do I believe He is good? Do I trust Him with my heart? Do I believe what I believe because that’s what I’ve been told my whole life, or because I want to believe it, or because it is true?

These questions are the bedrock of this blog. If I’m not alone in asking them, then I don’t need to be alone in looking for their answers…in looking for evidence of God’s hand in this world, at this time, in my life and in the lives of others.

I’m hoping you’ll join me in this search. That you’ll email me with questions so we can hunt down the answers together. That you’ll share your sightings of God’s presence in your life and in the world around you. That, together, we can figure out how to enjoy that promised abundant life that will matter for eternity.

Czech
Nothing beats a stroll with a good friend!
